E-Mails 10/1/2012

Hey Parents!
Ao this week wasn’t that eventful. It was actually kind of a rough week but it was all good. We still had good stuff happen.
like for example we had our Atheist investigator Carina come to church. I can’t she liked it but she did want to come back. πŸ˜› So we will see what happens there. I am pretty sure she will get baptized before I am finished here. Daniel was confirmed Sunday which was awesome! We met this cool Panamanian lady named Claudia! She is freakin sweet! She told me how to make something called Garminolas I am so very excited to make them. They are Yucca and ground beef empanada things. But I can’t wait! Yum! We had a leadership training this week which was so absolutly amazing! It was by Pres Anderson. It was about the Missionary Pride Cycle. It talks about how we go through the same patters of blessings, complacency and pride, chastening, humility and back to blessings. Basically he wants us to be able to balance all the areas of our work and keep them at a standard and always be obedient. But it was cool. I’ll have to show you notes sometime. It was really good. During the training Sis. Aloi and the other trainee’s were dropped off with the Boynton Sisters and went on a 20 mile bike ride. They were stranded and had to be picked up by the Assitant’s (sp?) We didn’t get back to ou rarea until 5 oclock that day. But it was all good we had fun.
Church was good. We tried to have a baptism but were unable to. It was super sad, but we will baptize next week.
Anyways. Yeah I dont have much news either. But it was a good week and we had fun. πŸ™‚
Sis Holder
Β 
Dear Pres. Anderson,
Harvesting this week wasn’t going as well as we wanted this week. We were really working hard on turning our blessings into investigators. But appointment after appointment cancelled. We continued to have a positive attitude about it and keep going out there to find people. One day after some appointments had fallen through we went to check up on some potential investigators and we ran into a woman named Yanick who was asking us what church we were from. We started talking with her and decided to offer a blessing. It was a powerful blessing that she was able to feel the spirit and couldn’t stop smiling. She told us how she just moved her and was looking for a church to go to. We invited her to be baptized and she accepted right away and is excited to be working towards the 14th for this month! I know that it was a blessing for us in the work and for her looking for a place to get closer to God.
During my studies this week I was going over “Our Purpose” in Preach My Gospel. I started thinking more about what it is that I am doing here and why it is that I am on my mission. As I began to read the Book of Mormon I was reading 2 Nephi 25. I read verses and felt the spirit as I understood more what it is that my purpose here is. I felt the spirit strongly and had to read it over and over again. It made me happy πŸ™‚
Sis Aloi and I also were able to go and see the Relief Society General Broadcast. It was amazing! I loved the talk from Pres Eyring. It was all about service and how we can follow the spirit in the acts of service that we do. Also how we should be prepared to do those acts of service that the Lord needs us to be ready for. There was an awesome quote that was given, “What comes next for willing hands to do?” He also talked about how the Savior would not pass anyone by, even if the person was his enemy, and would offer what help he could. It was awesome and the spirit was so strong there that night with all the woman from our ward and around the world.
Sis. Aloi and I are doing great and we are having fun helping our are to grow! We are expecting tons of miracles to happen this week and are working hard πŸ™‚
Thanks so much!
Sis. Holder

Leave a Reply

